A Freefall later,

This post is long overdue, I will divide this in part I and part II.  Part II being my tree-climbing / ziplining three hour long adventure.

Part I

I have a serious fear of heights…okay maybe I should not qualify it as serious, but heights definitely phase me,  more so when I look up than when I look down (strange, I know).  but there’s also something quite appealing in a fear of heights and as I’ve always wanted to know how it would feel to throw yourself down from above 200 feet, I decided it was time for me to finally bungee jump.   The day of the jump, I wasn’t particularly scared, I was in fact thrilled.  I did a “rip ride”  which is essentially the same thing as the zip line.   The zipline scared me at first, but it was mainly the instructions that scared me “Lay down on the railing as it descends slowly“, he instructed me. I literally felt like I was about to tip upside down.   But then when I departed, it was a thrilling sensation:  The water was beautiful, I was noticing the sunny day, the nature, it was exhilarating.

My bungee jump was a tad different.  When we went up on the structure, they asked us to line up by weight from heaviest to lightest, and by default I had to watch my friend jump a few people before me.  I still didn’t feel fear in that moment, and was proud of her as she jumped right then and there at the count of 5-4-3-2-1.

And then came my turn, they tied me up by the ankles, attached the chord and what not, and there I stood at the edge 200 feet above the water on the North America’s highest bungee jump site.  The fear of falling overtook me, and they counted 5-4-3-2-1 and I held on to the structure at 1, not throwing myself down, feeling dizzy.  Up there you feel no security, you’re literally free falling from the air. I apologized for being one of those people I watched on youtube and for a split second the following thought went through my head “you can turn around”.  And then I looked to my left and saw people lined up watching, and of course that thought washed away into “I cannot be the girl I watched in that one youtube video that never ended up jumping.”  And so, feeling absolutely suicidal, I asked “Could you please do that again, I’m very sorry”  And so they counted 5-4-3-2-1 again, and at 1 I threw myself, unable to even produce a sound. Fear silenced me.  It was a feeling like  never before.  I thought my heart was going to jump out of my chest, and no rational thoughts were going through my head.  And then the bounce came, and I went up again, and again.  It was scary!  When I watch the video of it, I still get anxious for myself.  Would I do it again?  Absolutely!

An attempt at documenting:

Part II – more ziplining!

Then about 3 weeks following my jump, I decided to gather a group of friends and for us to go to Caverne Lafleche, which is a site in Gatineau, Canada, and to do one of those three hours-long tree-climbing/obstacle/ziplining adventures.   Let me just say that we have lost 3 guides during , and that not even an hour into the adventure, we were left on our own, to strap ourselves and hope for the best as we descended the trees.  Compared to my previous zip lining experience,  briefly mentioned in part I of this post, these ziplines were quite a work out.  We all descended not 3, but 4 hours later, drentched in sweat, dehydrated and ready for a cold beer and a well-deserved poutine.

It was hard to take photos while pulling tarzan moves, so I will leave you with this:

Come on, Say it!

